Skip to content

Release Day Review! NEVER SWEETER by Charlotte Stein (Dark Obsession #2)

 Title: Never Sweeter

Author: Charlotte Stein
Series: Dark Obsession #2 
Publisher: Loveswept
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release
Date: April 19, 2016

Blurb:
Second chances are sweeter than ever in Charlotte Stein’s steamy Dark Obsession series—perfect for fans of Katy Evans—as a self-reliant college girl falls for a reformed bully who’s desperate to make up for lost time.
Letty Carmichael can’t believe her eyes when she catches a glimpse of her high school tormenter, wrestling champ Tate Sullivan, on campus. College was supposed to be her escape from Tate’s constant ridicule. Now he’s in her classes again, just waiting for his chance to make her life hell. But when Letty and Tate are partnered up for an assignment—on sex in cinema, of all things—she starts to see a kinder, gentler side of him. And when she realizes Tate knows more about sex than she could ever guess at, he soon starts making her blush in a whole new way.Tate Sullivan is haunted by regret over his cruelty toward Letty. So when she agrees to work with him, he seizes his chance to make amends. He can’t blame her for not believing he’s for real, but soon Tate starts to break down her wall. She wants to know about passion, desire, lust—topics he is well versed in. And in return she offers the one thing he always wanted: the chance to be more than just a jock.

Letty is shocked by how sensitive Tate can be. Still, desiring him feels ludicrous. Loving him is impossible. Craving him is beyond all reason. So why can’t she stop?

Review:
Wow. Just, wow.

I loved this book. I have a tendency to let just enough time elapse between reading Charlotte Stein’s books to forget how absolutely amazing they are, so reading a new one manages to blow me away all over again like it’s the first one. But I haven’t read one yet I haven’t loved, and Never Sweeter has everything I love about her books–witty banter; relatable characters; dirty, dirty, dirty sex; and an emotional rollercoaster.

Because that relationship black moment? Gah! I thought it just might kill me.

I wasn’t sure going in–the tormentor of her high school existence becomes her boyfriend in college? Tate has to convince the reader, right along with Letty–and he does a decent job of it for 80% of the book. Stein shows us Letty’s hesitance to trust him (or anyone, really–Lydia had almost as much work to do on the getting-Letty-to-trust-me-front, which she did like a champ) and letting us see that gradual, oh-so-slow building up of trust and friendship between them.

And then more. Holy schmoly, do we get to see more. And let me just say–Tate Sullivan is full of surprises. In the absolute best way possible.

And then that darn black moment comes in all its horrible glory…at first I thought, Letty’s just overreacting, it’s… but it got even worse. Which unfortunately is exactly what we (and Letty!) needed (how does Stein do that? It’s like her evil genius superpower or something) to really, truly believe in Tate’s redemption.

And oh, I do believe.

And now I’m going to go back and read over all those highlighted bits yet again and glory in their awesomeness. And then I think I’ll pick up a copy of book 1 in the series (Never Loved ) to have on hand when I need another reminder of Ms. Stein’s awesomeness. I’m thinking it’ll be the perfect end-of-the-semester reward… 🙂

Rating: 4 1/2 stars / A

I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

Purchase Links:
AMAZON US / UK
 Also Available:
AMAZON US / UK

 

Author Bio:

 

Charlotte Stein is the acclaimed author of more than thirty novels, novellas, and short stories. When not writing deeply emotional and intensely sexy books, she can be found eating jelly turtles, watching terrible sitcoms, and occasionally lusting after hunks. She lives in West Yorkshire, England, with her husband and their now totally real and completely nightmarish dog.
Author Links: 
Published in4.5 starsAblitzBook reviewsBOOKS!new releaserelease dayspotlight

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.