Skip to content

Tag: nonfiction

New Release Review and Giveaway! I’LL HAVE WHAT SHE’S HAVING by Erin Carlson

  A backstage look at the making of Nora Ephron’s revered trilogy–When Harry Met Sally, You’ve Got Mail, and Sleepless in Seattle–which brought romantic comedies back to the fore, and an intimate portrait of the beloved writer/director who inspired a generation of Hollywood women, from Mindy Kaling to Lena Dunham. In I’ll Have What She’s Having entertainment journalist Erin Carlson tells the story of the real Nora Ephron and how she reinvented the romcom through her trio of instant classics. With a cast of famous faces including Reiner, Hanks, Ryan, and Crystal, Carlson takes readers on a rollicking, revelatory trip to Ephron’s New York…

New Release! THE DEAD INSIDE: A TRUE STORY by Cyndy Etler

The Dead Inside: A True Story Author: Cyndy Etler Sourcebooks Fire On-sale: April 4, 2017 Young Adult, Hardcover $17.99 Description: For readers of Girl Interrupted and Tweak, Cyndy Etler’s gripping memoir gives readers a glimpse into the harrowing reality of her sixteen months in the notorious “tough love” program the ACLU called “a concentration camp for throwaway kids.” All Cyndy wanted was to be loved and accepted. By age fourteen, she had escaped from her violent home, only to be reported as a runaway and sent to a “drug rehabilitation” facility that changed her world. To the public, Straight Inc.…

Release Day! WRITE NAKED by Jennifer Probst

Today we are celebrating the release of WRITE NAKED: A Bestseller’s Guide to Writing Romance and Navigating the Path To Success by Jennifer Probst. This is a nonfiction title aimed at writers of romance and women’s fiction. Check out the teaser and buy links below!   ————————– WRITE NAKED: A Bestseller’s Secrets to Writing Romance & Navigating the Path to Success by Jennifer Probst BLURB: Learn how to transform your passion for writing into a career. New York Times best-selling author Jennifer Probst reveals her pathway to success, from struggling as a new writer to signing a seven-figure deal. Write…

Audiobook Review! THE GIRLS OF MURDER CITY: FAME, LOVE, AND THE BEAUTIFUL KILLERS WHO INSPIRED CHICAGO by Douglas Perry

The Girls of Murder City: Fame, Lust, and the Beautiful Killers who Inspired Chicago by Douglas Perry   Synopsis: The true story of the murderesses who became media sensations and inspired the musical Chicago Chicago, 1924. There was nothing surprising about men turning up dead in the Second City. Life was cheaper than a quart of illicit gin in the gangland capital of the world. But two murders that spring were special – worthy of celebration. So believed Maurine Watkins, a wanna-be playwright and a “girl reporter” for the Chicago Tribune, the city’s “hanging paper.” Newspaperwomen were supposed to write…

Book Review: THE PROFESSOR AND THE MADMAN: A TRUE STORY OF MURDER, INSANITY, AND THE MAKING OF THE OED by Simon Winchester

The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester Synopsis: Hidden within the rituals of the creation of the Oxford English Dictionary is a fascinating mystery. Professor James Murray was the distinguished editor of the OED project. Dr. William Chester Minor, an American surgeon who had served in the Civil War, was one of the most prolific contributors to the dictionary, sending thousands of neat, hand-written quotations from his home. After numerous refusals from Minor to visit his home in Oxford, Murray set out to find him. It…

New Release and Giveaway! GIRL WORLD: HOW TO DITCH THE DRAMA AND FIND YOUR INNER AMAZING by Patricia Ottaviano

Because being a girl IS harder than it looks! Book Information: Title: Girl World: How to Ditch The Drama and Find Your Inner Amazing Author: Patricia Ottaviano Release Date: August 4, 2015 Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire   Summary: The guide every girl needs to survive the pitfalls of teen-dom Mean stares. Hurtful whispers. The cold shoulder. Being a girl is harder than it looks. In a world where gossip, drama, and rumors seem to be never ending, it’s not easy to navigate the halls of middle school or high school without earning a few battle scars. But what if you could…

New Release Excerpt Tour and Giveaway! HEARTS BENEATH THE BADGE by Karen Solomon (Excerpt #9)

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway! Comment on every post on the tour to earn 5 extra entries! Title: Hearts Beneath the Badge Author: Karen Solomon Publisher: Missing Niche Publishing Pages: 247 Genre: Nonfiction Format: Hardcover/Paperback/Kindle/Nook About the Book: Hearts Beneath the Badge is a unique compilation of interviews with officers across the country. It’s not about the crimes they witness or the judgment they face; it’s about them – Damien, Danny, Frances, Ken, Pamela, Brian, and more. Their thoughts, their fears, their proud moments and their heartbreak. It’s about the people we often don’t see because we are blinded…

Book Blast and Giveaway: WIDOWS 101: How Not to Eat Moldy Bread by Susan Barber

Is it wrong that I really, really like the subtitle on this one?   Title: Widows 101 Author: Susan Barber Publisher: iUniverse Pages: 108 Genre: Self-help Format: Kindle Purchase at AMAZON About the book: Becoming a widow isn’t like becoming a wife. Becoming a wife requires major planning. But becoming a widow is often a surprise, and even with advance planning some people are still stunned. It’s difficult to prepare for widowhood. In Widows 101, author Susan Barber uses her personal experience with her husband’s death to provide practical tips for surviving the death of a spouse. Delivered with a gentle, lighthearted approach,…