Skip to content

New Release Review and Giveaway! TURN UP THE HEAT by Serena Bell (Second Chances #1)

TURN UP THE HEAT? Turn up the A/C!

turnuptheheat-banner_edited-2

Turn up the Heat
Second Chances # 1
By: Serena Bell
Releasing July 14, 2015
Loveswept

 

Blurb:

For readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, USA Today bestselling author Serena Bell teases all five senses in this poignant, tantalizing novel of fantasies long hidden . . . and finally indulged.

Aspiring chef Lily McKee noticed Kincaid Graves the first time he walked into the dingy diner where she waits tables. With his ice-blue eyes and primal tattoos, his presence puts Lily on edge—and reminds her of all the unfulfilled longings she isn’t pursuing while she’s stuck in this dead-end job. Without a doubt, the man is dangerous to her long-term plans of leaving town and hiring on at a real kitchen—and yet, she hungers for him, if even for just a taste.

Kincaid didn’t come back to his coastal Oregon hometown looking for a good time or a good meal. The ex-con has a score to settle, old wrongs to set right. But Lily, equal parts innocence and insight, brings out an impulsive side of him he thought he’d left behind in the past. And it only takes one intense moment of weakness between them to make him consider the possibility of an entirely new future—and the promise of passion beyond either of their wildest dreams.

Review:

This book was AMAZING. I absolutely loved Lily and Kincaid, and had a hard time putting their story down to do…well, pretty much anything. If you like intense reads with a whole lot going on below the surface of things for the characters and you’re not afraid of your reading getting a little…warm, then this one is for you.

Honestly, I have no idea how Ms. Bell managed to pack so much into such a relatively short read (180 pages, by my ereader count). It just shouldn’t be possible.

There’s crazy chemistry here with absolutely amazingly intense sex, a good dose of angst and a dash of despair, and then two minutes later I’m practically snorting my iced tea out of my nose as I read a line like this:

“My heart is aching for you. That must have been just terrible, not being able to speak to the girl because you were too busy getting laid.”

Seriously, this book has it all. I’ve already added most of Serena’s backlist to my TBR–no idea why it’s taken me so long to get started, but I’m a fan now!

Since Turn Up the Heat is the first book in a new series, at least it’s the prefect place to get started 🙂

Rating: 4 1/2 stars / A

I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

TUTH_cover

Link to Follow Tour

Goodreads Link

Goodreads Series Link

 

Buy Links:  Amazon | B & N iTunes | Kobo Publisher

 

Author Info:SERENA

USA Today bestselling author Serena Bell writes stories about how sex messes with your head, why smart people sometimes do stupid things, and how love can make it all better. She wrote her first steamy romance before she was old enough to understand what all the words meant and has been perfecting the art of hiding pages and screens from curious eyes ever since—a skill that’s particularly useful now that she’s the mother of two school-aged children.

 

Author Links:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

 

 

Rafflecopter Giveaway

One Loveswept Mug

One Flirt Mug

Ebook copies of:

  • CLAIMED by Stacey Kennedy
  • MY OBSESSION by Cassie Ryan
  • DEEP AUTUMN HEAT by Elisabeth Barrett
  • TAKE THE FALL by Marquita Valentine
  • YOUR TO KEEP by Serena Bell
  • SWEET THE SIN by Claire Kent

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Published in4.5 starsAblog tourBook reviewsBOOKS!GIVEAWAYnew releasespotlight

2 Comments

  1. Tasty Book Tours Tasty Book Tours

    Thank you for hosting TURN UP THE HEAT!

  2. My pleasure!

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: