Skip to content

New Release Review! DEFENDING TAYLOR by Miranda Kenneally (Hundred Oaks #7)

Defending Taylor
by Miranda Kenneally



There are no mistakes in love.

Captain of the soccer team, president of the Debate Club, contender for valedictorian: Taylor’s always pushed herself to be perfect. After all, that’s what is expected of a senator’s daughter. But one impulsive decision-one lie to cover for her boyfriend-and Taylor’s kicked out of private school. Everything she’s worked so hard for is gone, and now she’s starting over at Hundred Oaks High.

Soccer has always been Taylor’s escape from the pressures of school and family, but it’s hard to fit in and play on a team that used to be her rival. The only person who seems to understand all that she’s going through is her older brother’s best friend, Ezra. Taylor’s had a crush on him for as long as she can remember. But it’s hard to trust after having been betrayed. Will Taylor repeat her past mistakes or can she score a fresh start?



I love this series (though I’ve got a few books in the middle to catch up on…) and was thrilled to find out that book 7 was coming out–woot! Needless to say, I jumped right on that 😉

Though I definitely didn’t agree with all of her choices–but really, who can make good choices right after waking up from a nap?–I really liked Taylor. Her heart was definitely in the right place, even if her head wasn’t always. She tried to make the best of a bad situation, and only wallowed a teensy little bit along the way. (Though holy schamoly–the amount of pressure that girl was putting on herself to succeed? Scared the heck out of me…it’s lucky a few stimulants were the only thing she used to help cope…not that it was good idea, mind you, but still. It could have been a lot worse.) I enjoyed watching her work through her life to finally figure out what she really wanted from it.

And Ezra…sigh. Definitely book boyfriend material (age doesn’t matter when we’re talking BBs, right?) I really did not expect his big secret to be what it was, and was happy to see how well it explained what he was going through and had done in the past.

We got glimpses of several of the former Hundred Oaks MCs–Jack and Savannah, Jeremiah and Annie, and Maya (
Jesse’s Girl
) is there in spirit, if not in person.

Book 8 is still untitled and has no cover or release date–but still, something to look forward to! And in the meantime, I can get caught up with the rest of the series 🙂

Rating: 4 stars / A-

I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.


View all my reviews

Published in4 starsA-Book reviewsBOOKS!new releasespotlight
%d bloggers like this: