Skip to content

Release Day Review and Giveaway! HER SECOND DEATH by Melinda Leigh (Bree Taggert #0.5)

Her Second Death: A Bree Taggert prequel
blog tour banner

Title: Her Second Death
Author: Melinda Leigh
Series: Bree Taggert Prequel
Release Date: December 7, 2021

When a man is shot in the head, Bree Taggert and her new partner, veteran detective Dana Romano, respond to the call. They break the news to the victim’s ex-wife and learn the estranged couple’s five-year-old daughter was supposed to have been with him. What starts as a murder investigation quickly morphs into a desperate search for a missing child. The case stirs memories of Bree’s own traumatizing childhood. To find the little girl, Bree will have to relive her own terrifying past.

add to Goodreads button
Her Second Death cover
Amazon button


Her Second Death does its job perfectly, giving readers a short nugget of a story to introduce a new character, Bree Taggert, and whet their appetites for more. In trying to solve a homicide and locate a missing little girl, Detective Taggert also gives us a glimpse into her own troubled past–a past that helps her to solve the case in less than 50 pages but still manages to feel realistic and authentic. Goal achieved–I for one will definitely be on the lookout for more from this series!

Rating: 4 stars / A-

voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

Melinda Leigh author photo

About the author:

#1 Amazon Charts and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh is a fully recovered banker. Melinda’s debut novel, She Can Run, was nominated for Best First Novel by the International Thriller Writers. She’s garnered numerous writing awards, including two RITA nominations. Her other novels include She Can Tell, She Can Scream, She Can Hide, and She Can Kill in the She Can series; Midnight Exposure, Midnight Sacrifice, Midnight Betrayal, and Midnight Obsession in the Midnight novels; Hour of Need, Minutes to Kill, and Seconds to Live in the Scarlet Falls series; Say You’re Sorry, Her Last Goodbye, Bones Don’t Lie, What I’ve Done, Secrets Never Die, and Save Your Breath in the Morgan Dane series; and the Bree Taggert novels, Cross Her Heart, See Her Die, Drown Her Sorrows, and Right Behind Her. She holds a second-degree black belt in Kenpo karate, has taught women’s self-defense, and lives in a messy house with her family and a small herd of rescue pets. For more information, visit

Social Media Links:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Published in4 starsA-blitzBook reviewsBOOKS!GIVEAWAYnew releaserelease dayspotlight