Skip to content

A Q&A with Amber Lynn Natusch, Author of DARE YOU TO LIE (with a giveaway!)

Dare You to Lie banner

A Q&A with author Amber Lynn Natusch

What is the first book that made you cry?

Charlotte’s Web

 

Does writing energize or exhaust you?

Ha! Both… it really depends on the day, the scene, and how close to deadline I am.

 

Does a big ego help or hurt writers?

I don’t think a big ego helps anyone. Ever. When you buy your own hype, you stop listening to those who can help you grow as a person and as a writer.

 

Did you ever consider writing under a pseudonym?

I did for this most recent release because it’s YA, but my publisher didn’t seem concerned about it so I didn’t bother.

 

Do you try more to be original or to deliver to readers what they want?

I write the story as it comes to me, and do so in a way that’s authentic to the characters involved. I don’t follow trends; my brain doesn’t work that way AT ALL.

 

Do you think someone could be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?

I think it’s possible, it’s just not possible for me.

 

What other authors are you friends with, and how do they help you become a better writer?

I am fortunate enough to have a lot of author friends, some of whom I’ve been close to since the beginning of my journey in 2011. They help push me, challenge my stories when need be, and support me when things get rough. I love each and every one of them. They are invaluable to me.

 

If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

Keep doing what you’re doing. It’s working 😉

 

What did you do with your first advance?

My first advance was in 2013. I’d just had my second child, and I think we used the money to finish remodeling our house so we could move into one with a bigger yard.

 

What do you owe the real people upon whom you base your characters?

Some of them, nothing. Others….probably a fruit basket or two.

 

How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?

I have a few half-finished ones that will be published in 2019… I’m a bit behind schedule 😉

 

What kind of research do you do, and how long do you spend researching before beginning a book?

Google searches that are likely to get me in trouble with the feds—and I do as little as possible because I HATE doing research.

 

How long were you a part-time writer before you became a full-time one?

I still write part-time by choice. I love my practice and I won’t give that part of my life up for any amount of money or writing time. Working in my office keeps my mind balanced, and I think it actually helps me be effective during my writing time because I know I only have a set amount of it.

 

How many hours a day do you write?

If you include marketing, promotion, and all the other stuff that goes into being published, I’d say I spend about twenty-five hours a week on writing-related activities.

 

What period of your life do you find you write about most often? (child, teenager, young adult)

I’d say all of them. They’ve all influenced my life, and all have importance to my writing.

 

What did you edit out of this book?

Kylene’s mother. She’s mentioned but not present (though that may change in future books….)

 

How do you select the names of your characters?

I see them in my mind and think of what they embody as a human (or not-so-human, as the case sometimes is), then I craft a name that I think encompasses all those things. It’s surprisingly hard sometimes.

 

Do you read your book reviews?

I do, though sparingly. How do you deal with bad or good ones? I take them all with a grain of salt and try to glean something helpful from them all to make the next in the series better. Being uncomfortable helps you grow as a person and as a writer. Nothing has the ability to make you uncomfortable like a bad review 😉

 

Do you hide any secrets in your books that only a few people will find?

I do. I love adding inside jokes that only a few people will understand.

 

Do you Google yourself?

Nope.

 

What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

Dealing with great ideas that hit at the worst times possible.

 

Does your family support your career as a writer?

Absolutely!!! I’m extremely lucky in that regard. My husband runs the bulk of our practice now and sees most of our patients so that I can have time to write. My kids are so excited to read my books (though they’re WAY too young for that at the moment). My mom makes her book club read my books, and even my dad is going to read Dare You to Lie. He hates paranormal stuff but loves thrillers/mystery.

 

How long on average does it take you to write a book?

I would say four weeks to three months is pretty typical, though that doesn’t include revision time (and some of those require a decent amount of that 😉)

 

Do you believe in writer’s block?  

Absolutely, though I can’t say I’ve had it. I think ideas can be elusive, characters can clam up on you, and outlines can change, forcing you into an unexpected corner you can’t find a way out of. If I ever feel stuck, I just switch to another project until the characters start talking to me again.

About Amber Lynn Natusch:

Amber Lynn Natusch author photo

AMBER LYNN NATUSCH is the author of the bestselling Caged series for adults. She was born and raised in Winnipeg, and is still deeply attached to her Canadian roots. She loves to dance and practice Muay Thai―but spends most of her time running a chiropractic practice with her husband, raising two young children, and attempting to write when she can lock herself in the bathroom for ten minutes of peace. Dare You to Lie is her debut YA novel with Tor Teen.

Newsletter  |  Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon

 

Dare You to Lie cover

Dare You To Lie
by Amber Lynn Natusch
Series: Hometown Antihero Book One
Genre: Young Adult Mystery / Suspense
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: September 4, 2018

 

The first installment in the Hometown Antihero series by Amber Lynn Natusch.

When her FBI agent father is framed for murder, Kylene is forced to move in with her grandfather, back to the small town that turned its back on her, and the boy who betrayed her.

All Ky cares about is clearing her father’s name, but someone won’t let her forget the photo scandal that drove her away two years ago. As the threats gain momentum, Ky finds an unlikely ally in the annoyingly attractive rookie FBI agent sent to keep an eye on her.

Determined to expose the town’s hidden skeletons, Ky unwittingly thrusts herself into a much bigger plot. They thought she’d forgive and forget. They’re about to learn they messed with the wrong girl.

DARE YOU TO LIE, a young adult mystery read perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Pretty Little Liars, or Riverdale.

Purchase Your Copy Today!
Barnes & Noble  |  Amazon  |  Kobo  |  iBooks  |  Indiebound

Teaser graphic

Excerpt:

I raced through town and into Gramps’s neighborhood. When I got to the house, there was a generic-looking sedan, not unlike the one my father used to drive, parked outside. I hadn’t even pulled all the way into the driveway before Agent Douchecanoe was out of his vehicle and headed my way, file in hand.

“So you’re the errand boy,” I said to him as he scowled at me.

“You know you can hear that environmental hazard coming from a mile away, right?”

“Weird . . . kinda like your hostility and hubris.”

His frown deepened as he extended the file in his hand toward me. I reached for it, but he pulled it back at the last second.

“Striker said to make sure you got this.”

“Hence the errandboy comment—”

“Do you know what’s in here?”

“Do you know what’s in there?” I countered, knowing damn well he would have looked. The suspense would have killed him.

“They’re copies of evidence from you father’s trial.”

“Ding, ding, ding!” I exclaimed, snatching the file from his hand. “Consider your errand complete. I’d tip you, but . . . I don’t get paid until next week.”

“Why did Striker want you to have those?” he asked, totally unfazed by my jab.

“Because I asked for them.”

He shook his head.

“That’s adorable. You think you can find something that a defense lawyer and a team of FBI agents couldn’t find.”

“They weren’t really looking, though, were they? They approached his investigation as if he was already guilty. Hard to be objective when your singular focus is to bring down the fall guy.”

“Says the girl with the singular focus of freeing her daddy,” he replied. “What a sad day it’s going to be for you when all you find in those files is the truth of your father’s guilt.”

“We’ll see about that.”

 

 

 

 

 

Tour Wide Giveaway!

To celebrate the release of DARE YOU TO LIE by Amber Lynn Natusch, we’re giving away a $25 Amazon gift card to one lucky winner!

Giveaway graphic

GIVEAWAY TERMS & CONDITIONS:  Open to internationally. One winner will receive a $25 Amazon gift card. This giveaway is administered by Pure Textuality PR on behalf of Amber Lynn Natusch.  Giveaway ends 9/18/2018 @ 11:59pm EST. Limit one entry per reader. Duplicates will be deleted.  CLICK HERE TO ENTER!

 

This promotion is brought to you by Pure Textuality PR.

Published inblog tourBOOKS!GIVEAWAYnew releaseQ&Aspotlight
%d bloggers like this: