Skip to content

Audiobook Review! BETWEEN US box set by Christina Bell (Reid/Lola #1-3; McDaniels Brothers #3)

Between Us, Book 1-3, The Complete Box Set: Reid and Lola’s Story
by Christine Bell


It was supposed to be a fresh start…

Boston is in the rearview mirror, and the McDaniels boys thought they’d left the ugliness behind along with it. But Reid’s got a secret that could tear the brothers apart, and now, to top it off, there’s this girl…Big, sad eyes, chip on her shoulder the size of a Buick. She’s in trouble. Hell, she is trouble. But he just can’t seem to stop thinking about her.

Former ballerina-turned Vegas showgirl Lola Taylor is used to dealing with jerks at her job, but when a handsome stranger saves her from a near-tragedy, she can’t help but wonder if he’s one of the fabled good guys. If so, the last thing he needs is to get caught up with the likes of her, but no matter how hard she tries to drive him away, he keeps coming back. If she finally breaks down and let’s him in, it could destroy her, but with every touch and every smile, her resolve is weakening…

Could Reid McDaniels be that one guy worth risking it all for?


Her name was Lola, she was a showgirl… (yep, it comes up once or twice ;))

It’s official–Reid’s definitely my favorite of the brothers. As the youngest, he was (only slightly) a little more sheltered from the whacked-out evil witchiness that was their mother, and he’s still got enough of that people-are-good-inside vibe going on in him that Lola refers to him as “Boy Scout” (almost a taunt at first, but later with affection). Sigh…he’s just so swoon-worthy.

But Lola’s got issues. Boy, does she ever. I have to admit, at first I kind of could get where she was coming from, but she held on to the I-can’t-ever-get-involved-with-a-man thing way longer than she should have. I mean, really–it’s Reid. Obviously the guy’s gonna do you right to the absolute best of his ability. Just give in already!

In addition to the Reid-Lola storyline, the McDaniels boys are also gearing up for Bash’s big fight that could possibly make or break him, and the major drama that reared its fugly head at the end of book two (Trust Me: The Complete Box Set: Matty and Kayla’s Story – Books 1-3) comes back with a vengeance. There’s a lot going on here, but Ms. Bell manages to bring it all together and wraps the series up on a good note.

Sigh. I’m going to miss those guys.

Even though this one’s the third in the series, I think it could probably work well on its own. Pretty much everything you need to know from the other books (including the shocker at the end of #2) is summarized at some point. Just be warned, though, the glimpses you get of the other brothers and their fiancee/girlfriends will most likely inspire you to increase your TBR by another two books 🙂

Once again the dual narrators did a great job reading the story in the audiobook version. They really made the first person narrative style of the story come alive, and I have zero complaints for the way they did their jobs.

All together it was an entertaining 7 1/2 hours, and I’m looking forward to seeing what Ms. Bell has in store for us next.

Rating: 4 stars / B+

I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Published in4 starsaudiobooksB+Book reviewsBOOKS!spotlight