Skip to content

Author Sophia L. Johnson Tells Us The 10 Most Important Things About SHADOW OF DECEPTION (with a giveaway!)

ShadowOfDecemptionTourBanner2

 

The 10 Most Important Things About SHADOW OF DECEPTION

  1. Disclaimer: The plot twists in this book might make you fall off your chair, so secure yourself before reading.
  1. The girl on the cover is not me, so please stop asking.
  1. There will be some violence and gore, so feel free to skip those parts if you can’t handle it.
  1. Please do not attempt any of the action sequence at home. They are strictly for imagery people in an imagery world. Trust me, I’ve learned it the hard way.
  1. If you live outside of North America, China, or Southern Europe, then I’m sorry. Your city did not survive by the year 2153.
  1. Kazumi is not your typical YA heroine, if she can be called one at all. Be prepare to hate her, get annoyed by her but inevitably love her and root for her.
  1. Kazumi Clarke, the main character, represents diversity and the harmony that can be created with amalgamation of different cultures and backgrounds. Stop discrimination of any kind!
  1. Fans of The Darkest Minds and Before You Go To Sleep will enjoy this book.
  1. All proceeds in the first year of publication will be donated to Covenant House to help homeless and at-risk youth. Every copy sold (paperback or ebook) can supply a hot meal or a warm blanket to those teens in need.
  1. This book has just won the gold medal in the YA sci-fi/fantasy category at the 2015 Moonbeam Children’s Book Award.

 

AUTHOR BIO:Sophia

I had my first adventure at the age of nine when I flew halfway across the globe all by myself, not knowing a word of English. I was lucky my parents didn’t decide to cheap out and ship me as a parcel instead. But all jokes aside, it was because of financial and physical limitations that I had to fly to Canada solo. It was a great adventure for a nine year-old girl to be honest; aside from the puking, the starvation due to inedible raw vegetables and smelly goo of which I later found out were called salad and cheese. But I made it. I reunited with my parents and soon welcomed my baby brother to the world.

Twenty-five years later, I have a beautiful daughter of my own and a loving husband. We all live in Toronto, enjoying the cultural diversity the city offers. The only adventures I get to have nowadays is by living vicariously through my characters.

 

Author links:

http://www.sophialjohnsonbooks.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13808620.Sophia_L_Johnson

https://twitter.com/AuthorSLJ

https://www.facebook.com/shadowofdeception

SoD

Shadow of Deception
by Sophia L. Johnson
(The Kazumi Chronicles, #1)
Publication date: April 9th 2015
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult

Synopsis:

2153, Toronto, United Nation of North America (UNNA)

A horrific plane crash kills all five hundred and forty-two passengers except one. Kazumi emerges from the wreckage physically unscathed but has lost all her memories. Her miraculous survival has the whole city buzzing but all she wants is to go home, wherever home is.

After waiting a month in the hospital with no one to claim her, Kazumi is deemed homeless. She is about to be sent to a nearby teenage shelter when the nurse she grew to trust ushers her down a mysterious path, one that promises safety and maybe even the chance to recover her memories. With no better options available, Kazumi takes her chance and finds herself in the headquarters of the Sarcomeres, a secret society of genetically advanced humans hidden deep inside the Rocky Mountains. The Sarc’s heightened physical abilities and high-tech gadgets are not the only things that fascinate Kazumi. Finnegan O’Riley, a fellow Sarc she meets along the way also gets her heart racing. When Kazumi discovers that she possesses the genetic potential of a Sarcomere, she jumps at the chance to train with them, not knowing the death defying tests that are involved.

Meanwhile, a centuries-old nemesis of the Sarcomeres begins to stir in the dark, setting their dark plans in motion. Just when Kazumi thinks she can help protect her new found home, past memories surface to threaten her new identity. She soon realizes that layers of deception run deep and everyone has a secret agenda, including herself.

Who can she trust when she can’t even trust herself? One wrong decision could bring forth consequences worse than death.

Shadow of Deception is the gold medal winner at the Moonbeam Children’s Book Award.

 

Goodreads

 

Purchase:

Amazon
B&N

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Published inblog tourBOOKS!GIVEAWAYguest postnew releasespotlight
%d bloggers like this: