Skip to content

New Release Review and Giveaway! BREAKING THE ICE by Julie Cross (Juniper Falls #2)

 

Welcome to the Release Week Blitz for

Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls #2)
by Julie Cross

presented by Entangled Teen!

Grab your copy today!

 

Congratulations, Julie!

 

Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls #2)
by Julie Cross
Publication Date: December 26, 2017
Publisher: Entangled Teen

The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.

Amazon | Amazon Australia | Amazon UK | Amazon Canada | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

Excerpt:

“I’ll give you two choices…one, you can tell me the truth about that little job of yours and I’ll leave you alone with your hangover. Or two, you can clean yourself up and get your head together and do some work with me, and I’ll forget about the panties and the money and the lipstick…”

I doubt she’ll forget anything, but I have to hold out hope at least. I glance warily at her. “Option two. Definitely two.”

The smirk on Haley’s face is gonna be forever etched into my memory. She knew I’d pick option two.

 

Review:

Oh, this series–it continues to give me all. The. Feels. Seriously. All of them. I’d be perfectly okay if every single young adult in Juniper Falls got their own book–really.

I loved Fletcher and Haley. When the book opens on day one of summer school and her pen tapping is driving him nuts, my first instinct was, “but who’s the heroine going to be?” and LOL, of course it was her! At first glance, these two couldn’t possibly work…and for a lot of the book, Fletch would agree with you 100%. (Haley, naturally, is savvier than that. She figures it out much sooner.) It got harder and harder to watch him fight to keep himself apart from everyone, Haley included–that poor girl! Fortunately, he figures it out just in time, and oh that ending…

Happy sigh.

You could absolutely start the Juniper Falls series with this book, but so much of it will be that much more satisfying if you’ve read book one ( Off the Ice ) first. Haley was Tate’s girlfriend for a lot of OTI, and other events from that one are alluded to from time to time. To be honest, I kind of wished I’d been able to binge read the series–re-read the first one before reading the second–because it’s been awhile and the details of book one had grown a bit fuzzy in my brain. Plus, this series–have I mentioned that it gives me all the feels? 😉

Anxiously awaiting book three!

Rating: 4 1/2 stars / A-

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

 

OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES:

 

 

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, and Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press). She’s also the author of Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, Chasing Truth, Off the Ice and many more to come! Julie Cross was a longtime resident of central Illinois but has recently moved her entire family across the country to continue her academic studies at Stanford University.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

Giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Published in4.5 starsA-blitzBook reviewsBOOKS!excerptGIVEAWAYnew releasespotlight
%d bloggers like this: